Home » Daily Dose » Bubbe Out – Yes Again. Shut Up.

Bubbe Out – Yes Again. Shut Up.

If you missed it last week, tomorrow I’ll be having knee replacement surgery.  I will probably not be back online for awhile but Hubs will be alerting some of youse out there when everything is over that I am A-OK.  Youse know who youse are. 😀

Tomorrow I’ll be sleeping in.  When I do wake up we’ll feed and walk our dogs, though probably not in that order. After grabbing a shower I’ll don my loosest, sloppiest yoga pants and a comfy shirt and Hubs will drive me to the ambulatory surgery center in Seattle.  Oh and I’ll have shoes on too I suppose.  This part went pretty much as planned last week.

Once checked in I’ll meet with the anesthesiologist to decide the best way to prevent pain during surgery.  This will not be like the nautral childbirths I had!   My vote is to be completely out but since we’ll be getting a late start (they want me to arrive at noon) that may not be possible.  As I’ve mentioned, I get pretty sick under a general anesthetic and it can take hours to recover.  One of my peeps over at the BoneSmart forums had a spinal and went home the same day.  She even had a shower when she got home!  I think I’ve also mentioned that I’m not fond of the idea of needles anywhere near my back.  But if they can give me some happy juice before the spinal I could see myself being persuaded; in principle anyway.  I know I’m a chicken so shut up.  They use general for outpatient surgery so the doc will be adding something extra to my IV mix before they bring me around to help combat the violent nausea I usually experience.  I feel so special!  Fingers crossed. 

Then I imagine Dr. W will come chat with me about the procedure and what to expect afterward.  At some point during the preparations someone will use a felt pen to put a big OBVIOUS mark on my right knee – I’m going to hold out for an emoticon ;).  I drew a happy face on the correct knee last week before we left home.  This week I plan to draw a happy face AND an arrow directing Dr. W to the lateral side of my knee!  No one wants to replace the wrong one!  Or even part of the wrong one.  I’ve been waiting for months to ask Dr. W if he has my bionic knee ready.  Unfortunately I’ve also been on the BoneSmart forums for months and that joke is older than dirt over there.  Dr. W has probably heard it at least a few dozen times.  So now I need to figure out something else clever to say.  I kind of like GhostCat’s suggestion to tell him to make sure it’s Three Laws Compliant.  Sorry if that doesn’t compute.  Go watch I, Robot. 

Since it’s possible I won’t be able to get back here to see comments before surgery I’m not really soliciting suggestions.  However, if you want to post something you think I should have said to make me laugh afterward, by all means have at it.  I’m sure I’ll appreciate the giggle.  When I eventually make it back online. 😀

Enjoy the rest of your summer peeps!  Bubbe out.  Again.

10 thoughts on “Bubbe Out – Yes Again. Shut Up.

  1. Sorry I didn’t get back to y’all who commented after my surgery. No internet at home puts a crimp in my blogging activity — sigh. Thanks for all the good wishes! I hope to be back posting later this week but please don’t hold your breath (I wouldn’t want anyone turning blue on my say so). In the meantime, I’m trying to catch up some of my blog following to see how y’all are. 😉

What say you?