Home » Daily Dose » Movie Review

Movie Review

Last night it was Hubs’ turn to pick out the movie we watched.  He’s been adding to our collection here and there so selecting a film can be an adventure.  When he handed me a disk and I read You’re Telling Me! I was curious.  Later, as the introduction began to roll and I saw W.C. Fields was starring I was a bit reluctant.  I’ve not seen any W.C. Fields movies all the way through and the one that Hubs had on a few weeks back did not appeal to me, so I was worried I wouldn’t like this one. 

Boy was I wrong!  I laughed myself silly through the second half.  In the beginning all I could think about was throttling Sam’s wife!  Fields plays Sam Bisbee, an optometrist and inventor.  Not a successful inventor.  Plus he likes to drink, sometimes to excess.  (W.C. Fields – go figure J).  He lives with his wife and daughter on the wrong side of the tracks in a small town.  His wife is a crabby bitch, unhappy with her husband, his inventions and his drinking.  Sam has invented something which should guarantee his success, but a no parking zone leads to disaster …

Following what Sam perceives as his final disgrace, he decides to end it all but can’t go through with it.  Then he meets the Princess on the train, the rumor mill grinds on and hilarity ensues.

I don’t want to give away too much but I highly recommend this simple, funny movie.  It isn’t deep or sophisticated.  It’s just good fun. 

Happy weekend everyone!

7 thoughts on “Movie Review

  1. You must be very young. I LOVE all of W.C. Fields’ flics! You should watch “The Bank Dick”– It’s not what the young folks might think– “Dick” actually used to be slang for a detective or security. Has one of the most hysterical car chases of all time! And that before CGI!

    • Well, I wouldn’t say 56 is very young. I guess I was never exposed to Fields’ work much and what I did see bits and pieces of was his later stuff. I’ll have to see whether Hubs has “The Bank Dick.” And yes, I did know “Dick” in this context was a detective. I read some noir now and then. Thanks for commenting! And for the movie recommendation. 😉

What say you?

