Home » Daily Dose » Hair Raising

Hair Raising

It was time.  No, really.  It. Was. Time.  Time for what you ask?  Okay, so you didn’t ask.  I’m gonna tell you anyway.  It’s my blog and I’ll write if I want to!

Yesterday I went under the scissors for the first time in probably close to a year.  Well, not counting when my daughter gave me a quick trim a few months back.  My first professional haircut in a very long while. 

I’m not one of those people who spend big bucks for an elite salon style.  Great Clips all the way.  When we moved from the farm I was forced to leave behind my regular shop and while there was a Great Clips in my new town, I only got to try it once before it closed.  The next nearest Great Clips is one town over which isn’t that far really, probably about a 15 minute drive in non-rush hour traffic.  I wouldn’t mind trying that one if we were already over there for some other reason but I didn’t want to make a special trip after work in the midst of home-bound commuters.  Nuh uh, no way!  The freeways here at rush hour are definitely NOT rushing.

What’s a girl in dire need of a trim to do?  Okay, the “girl” is stretch I suppose.  What’s a woman to do etcetera.  Happy now?  In any case I remembered my across-the-street neighbor telling me about a place she had her hair cut.  Daisy (not her real name) had long, white hair which she kept in a lovely up-do all the time.  Then one day she appeared with her hair whacked off above her shoulders!  It was a drastic change but it looked nice on her.  She’d had it cut and permed at a little shop not five minutes from our mobile home park.  So last night after I got home and fed the dogs I walked across the street and knocked on her door.

Prissy, her dachshund raced as fast as her tubby little body would allow to bark at me through the porch railing and I scratched her under the chin while chatting with Daisy about hair.  I wanted to be sure I remembered correctly and she confirmed it.  After a little more conversation Hubs and I headed for the salon. 

There were two stylists on duty, both with customers when we entered.  I wrinkled my nose at the distinctive smell of permanent wave solution.  The wait wasn’t a long and once I was in the chair and draped, the stylist ran her hands through my hair asking if the color was my own.  I have brownish hair with natural blonde streaks that get lighter during the summer.  I told her it was and when she asked about the wave I told her it too, was natural.  She went on and on about how lucky I was (I know) and then asked what I wanted. 

This is the tricky part.  I can describe what I want, I can even picture it in my head.  I can’t understand it for someone else.  I have to trust that they can envision what I am describing.  The first time I have anyone cut my hair it’s nerve-wracking, especially now that I’m growing it longer.  I explained that I did NOT want to lose my length; just a bit of a trim to remove the dried ends.  Going on, I talked about cleaning up the layers because it was way past getting bushy.  I wanted to tell her that I did NOT want a mullet!  But since she was a younger Asian woman I wasn’t sure how that would translate.

She sprayed my hair to dampen it (I know!  I omitted the single best part of having a professional haircut – the shampoo!) and started to work.  It took a really, really long time.  I have very thick hair and she did a thorough job – separating, clipping aside layers of hair and scissoring precisely.  What makes it worse is I have to take off my glasses so I can’t even see what she’s doing.  There’s nothing that makes me cringe faster than hearing the scissors snipping away and not being able to see what’s going on – especially with a new stylist!

Once she finished cutting and checking for stragglers she started blowing it out.  I have used a blow dryer (with defuser) exactly once in the last six months.  At least six months.  I just don’t dry my hair because well, it DRIES my hair!  But the brushing and even the heat felt so good I just let her go.  By the time it was done I was glad I had.  One blow out won’t ruin my hair forever and it looked so cool straight!  She smoothed on a lotion called Biosilk or something and explained that it added shine.  Whatever.  It smelled divine and my hair felt INCREDIBLE!  I paid the exorbitant bill of $16, added a hefty tip and we went off to grab dinner. 

Where my bestie bartender friend raved about my hair and made me one of her signature drinks!  Yum!  The perfect ending to a long, totally exhausting work day. 

And now I have a new salon!  😀

6 thoughts on “Hair Raising

    • Amen Sista! Unfortunately I haven’t yet mastered sleeping on my kickass haircut so it’s not as lovely today. And no one at work noticed but that’s sort of the goal – for no one who sees you all the time to get it. If it’s that noticeable it’s not a GOOD haircut. 😀 Have fun at the Con my lovely!

    • Yeah, gotta love the price. Hey, I want you to know I read every one of your posts but I still can’t comment. Not on any of the Blogger blogs I follow. 😦

What say you?

