Home » Daily Dose » Happy Hour?

Happy Hour?

I’m going to happy hour tonight.  ME!  I know I talk a LOT about drinking but I’m more talk than reality.  Probably because my mother was an alcoholic, and with a genetic predisposition to addiction I’ve always been extremely leery of getting started down that path.  During my first marriage I almost never drank.  Even when it got seriously bad, or maybe especially because it got seriously bad.  I didn’t want the hooch to become a crutch.

Between marriages, when I began exploring the single world again I did start drinking some.  Mostly beer or wine, usually with a group of women out dancing somewhere on a Saturday night.  Once in a great while a margarita.  But I can count on one hand the times I’ve been genuinely drunk.  And I can count on that same hand the number of times I’ve been invited to happy hour. 

I’m not sure why I’m writing this post; it’s sort of evolving from where I thought it was going to go.  I was invited to join some of the women in the office for happy hour tonight to help one of our co-workers celebrate her birthday.  While I like most of my co-workers, I’ve rarely socialized with them (for more than 10 years I commuted 2+ hours each way; I wasn’t about to stay late if it wasn’t required!) so this will be a first.  And they’re all babies, relatively speaking – the birthday girl just turned 37!  It’s a safe bet I’ll be the oldest one there. 

This could be interesting … or not.  I’ll keep you posted.

Have a glorious weekend everyone!

3 thoughts on “Happy Hour?

  1. I hope you have a good time! I’m lucky enough to work in an office where the women’s ages vary quite a bit, and we still enjoy going to lunch together and hanging out after work a couple times a year. It makes going to work much nicer!

What say you?

