Home » Daily Dose » Something peaceful

Something peaceful

This is my coffee cup.  The one I use at work every day.

small cup

You probably can’t read all the words on it but those are waterlilies floating about.  I found this in a gift shop attached to a favorite restaurant of ours some time ago.  My original idea was to use it as a gift someday.  But the more I looked at it, the more I wanted to keep it so I could see it every day and be reminded to “Rush not. Be still, it takes the time that it takes.” 

It also reminds me of my favorite artist, Claude Monet.  I never went to college (beyond a couple of classes in English and paralegal studies) so I didn’t have the opportunity to learn a lot about Art.  But over the years I’ve seen many of Monet’s paintings and always … ALWAYS, they have given me a sense of peace. 

Le Bassin aux Nympheas - Claude Monet (1917-19)

Le Bassin aux Nympheas – Claude Monet (1917-19)

So I thought I’d pass it on.  Here’s to a peaceful day.

6 thoughts on “Something peaceful

  1. LIke Diana, I’m sneaking a peek at work. 😉

    What a pretty mug. I can see why you like it so much. And yes, it does look a lot like Monet. His paintings are beautiful. I don’t have any, but my girlfriend does, and I always admire them when I’m at her house.

    Nice post, Bubbe, thanks for the “respite”

What say you?

