Home » Daily Dose » Not a review

Not a review

My downfall when it comes to food has always been carbs.  And fat.  I dream in carbs sometimes.  Luscious wide egg noodles bathing in rich alfredo sauce; the aroma of bread still warm from the oven, melted butter soaking into its squashy goodness (bread doesn’t slice well when it’s warm, just so you know).  Mmm.  Alright, I don’t really dream about carbs and fat, but boy wouldn’t that be fab?

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away I baked my own bread.  No it wasn’t really all that long ago or that far away, but it sure seems like it.  It has been a long time since I made bread all by my lonesome from beginning to end.  One year for Christmas I was given a breadmaker and I’ve used it ever since.  Later, while wandering in downtown Poulsbo I found an entire book filled with recipes designed specifically for breakmakers.  It was on the clearance table.  I had to take it home, didn’t I?  One of the recipes was this scrumptious apricot bread that I’d like to make again now that I’m remembering it. 

Alas, life gets in the way and I rarely bake nowadays.  Of course I could blame it on not having anywhere to put the breadmaker (it currently resides on top of my fridge) but that’s an excuse.  If I really wanted to bake I could find room for it for the time it takes to bake a loaf. 

When my daughter described the bagels her boss sometimes brings to work I was practically drooling.  Imagine with me if you will:

Bagels – Cinnamon Crunch, Sweet Onion & Poppyseed, Cherry Vanilla and Pumpkin Pie (with hazelnut, New York Style Cheesecake, honey walnut or blueberry cream cheese!)

Oh my!

Specialty Bread – Holiday Bread (sweet egg dough mixed with honey, golden raisins, whole cranberries and chocolate chips – filled with chunky apple filling…baked with crumb topping!!!!)

More Specialty Breads – Tomato Basil (original sourdough with tomatoes, basil and streusel topping)
Chocolate Pecan Babka (sweet egg bread marbled with semi-sweet flavored chocolate filling and toasted pecans)
Asiago Cheese (zesty Asiago cheese blended with original sourdough starter)

[Surreptiously wipes chin.]

What is this place you might ask.  Well I might just tell you.  If you ask me very nicely. 😀

Panera Bread

Yes indeedy, Panera Bread.  Did you know that Panera Bread has a program they call “Operation Dough-nation”?  At the end of the day any unsold bread is donated to local hunger relief agencies.  Also, if you make a cash donation in one of their bakery-cafes they match a portion of that and donate it locally for hunger relief.  Nice corporate attitude!

But I can’t call this a review – I’ve never gone there and I’ve never tried their bread or bagels or pastries. 😦  My daughter though loves them and highly recommends them.  Thank goodness the closest one is in the next town!  If they were any closer they’d know me by name and I’d be as big as a house!

If you check them out let me know?  And once I actually try some of their yummy sounding goodies I’ll be sure to update this to a real review!

bread

6 thoughts on “Not a review

  1. Mmmmmmm…..Panera bread is yummy. (And not just for bread, they have divine soups too)….

    PS….I think I have the same cookbook. Cuz brilliant minds think alike.

    • Mmm, those sound wonderful! I’m a big fan of homemade mac & cheese so I’m a hard sell on restaurant versions but I’m willing to give them their shot. 😉

What say you?

