Home » Daily Dose » Help Yourself to Coffee

Help Yourself to Coffee

Sure, I know it’s Halloween and you were probably expecting a post about goblins, ghouls and getting my freak on.  This is so not that post.  Or perhaps you wanted a heartfelt, moving post about Hurricane Sandy and her aftermath.  Others have posted and will post more eloquently than anything I could say.  Not that I’m ignoring the horrific conditions the east coast has survived!  My prayers are with them as they begin the long, difficult process of rebuilding. 

But let’s get back to what this post actually is:  A blatant attempt to sell you a product for which I don’t even receive a kickback.  I like it that much.

I’m a coffee drinker.  However, I don’t “do” Starbucks.  Or Tully’s.  Or Seattle’s Best.  Or any of the umpteen million anonymous coffee places popping up every – effin’ – where!  Seriously people, how many coffee shops, stands, kiosks do we need?!  And do not get me started on the bikini baristas!  To a coffee snob I’m probably lower than pond scum but that’s what those coffees taste like to me — like pond scum (ducks).  Sorry, I know odds are that some of my many readers (I think there are five of you now) probably don’t agree.  It’s a good thing this is my blog isn’t it?  I get to say whatever I want!  Neener neener!

In any case, I usually drink my coffee with half and half.  It can’t be milk or soy creamer (I tried the Silk brand once because I liked their soy milk…ack, ugh, nasty!).  I’ll use Coffeemate in a pinch but usually under protest.  If all else fails I’ll drink it black.  Finally…on to the point of this (shut up).  Recently at the local diner we go to they didn’t have half and half (!!!) and brought milk to the table.  I didn’t throw a hissy fit or even whine but I did decline politely.  Well the server was one of our favorites there and she takes good care of us.  She disappeared briefly and returned with some individual flavored creamers which she’d purloined from her boss’s stash.  Let me just say WOW!  And I’m not that easy to impress.

While I like my coffee light, I rarely put sugar or sweetner into it.  It’s one of the reasons I only occasionally use flavored creamer.  I know what you’re thinking.  What’s the difference between adding flavored creamer and buying say a double tall Irish Creme latte?  About 4 bucks.  And did I mention their coffee tastes like pond scum?  Why would I pay 4 bucks for Irish Creme flavored pond scum?! 

Okay, I digress…again.  The lovely creamer I tried was International Delight’s Pumpkin Pie Spice.  If you like pumpkin I think you’d enjoy this!

Yummy goodness!

I had to search for a good week before I found it but the flavor is so worth it!  There’s hint of pumpkin and spice with just a touch of sweetness.  When we found this flavor there was another seasonal choice beside it which came highly recommended by the guy working in the dairy section.  I may have mentioned I’m not a chocolate fan (unless it’s dark with almonds…just sayin’).  So I wasn’t all that tempted but the store had a special price for two so we got one of each.  I brought the pumpkin pie spice to work so I can savor it all day if I want (it’s good to be me).  The White Chocolate Raspberry (yeah, you read that right!) is at home.  I didn’t think I’d like it but I’ve used it for the last two days running in my first cup of the day.  You know how sometimes white chocolate can be overly sweet?  Not this white chocolate!  It’s complimented perfectly by the raspberry.  Run out and get some of these right now!  Remember, they’re seasonal flavors – they’ll be going away soon and you wouldn’t want to miss out!  You’ll thank me, I promise. 

And just so you know I didn’t forget Halloween entirely … this was included in a feature in our local paper this morning:

 
Such a face!

Photo: Villafane Studios / HC

2 thoughts on “Help Yourself to Coffee

  1. Ok, I like all those places you mentioned except Tully’s (never heard of them)….Love me some Starbucks (don’t hate me), I can’t help it I just do! However at home my new favorite coffee additive obsession is one I make myself….1 can sweetened condensed milk, 1 can of evaporated milk and a teaspoon of cinnamon. Mix in a sauce pan or nuke it til it’s warm enough that the cinnamon doesn’t clump. I keep a jar of it in my fridge AT ALL TIMES. It’s so good and I usually don’t use a sweetener in my coffee at home…..:)

What say you?

