Home » Uncategorized » Giving Thanks

Giving Thanks

Please bear with me.  I hope this isn’t going to be a sappy idea.  A few weeks back while we were browsing at Goodwill (I ❤ Goodwill!) I found this cool book titled “For This I Am Grateful” by “ALL OF US”.  It’s published by Everyday Wisdom Press.  There are 164 pages of what people are grateful for, plus several blank lined pages at the back so you can add to it.  I flipped through the volume as I stood there leaning on my crutches and was so charmed I had to buy it.  When I returned to the office earlier this month I brought the book with me and displayed it prominently on my desk.  Inspiration had not yet struck. 

Then the whole family holiday drama cropped up and I found myself not looking forward to Thanksgiving.  How sad.  The other day for some reason the book caught my attention and I made a note for myself to write a Thanksgiving post, hoping it would help me look beyond the family circumstances and focus on the reason for the holiday itself. 

I started a different post which I figured I’d put up the day before Thanksgiving, then I pulled the book down where I could flip through its pages again.  Inspiration!  Each page contains at least one message of gratitude; some pages include several.  Why don’t I (I asked myself) post a new reason to be grateful each day of November?  Well, week days when I have internet access at work.  Yeah, we’re still there. 

So I think that’s what I’m going to do.  It may be the only thing I post each day – the reason for gratitude.  Or I may have a “real” post and add the gratitude platitude.  (ha! see what I did there?)

And here, to whet your appetites – or scare you off, are a few examples:

My grandmother! She taught me the equal values of a good laugh and a good cry.
Jaime Ledger, Boston, MA

Wow, I could have written that one.  I miss my grandma and wish I’d appreciated her more when I had her around. 

Baked macaroni and cheese, with cheese in every bite!
Paula Goodman, Peoria, IL

Mm mm good!

A good book to read late into the night while the rain tap-dances on the roof and the table lamp tosses friendly shadows across the bed.
Carol Mcadoo Rehme, Loveland, CO

I couldn’t have said it better!

So there you have it peeps.  My November gratefulness project.  I hope to post these every week day in November and I hope you all enjoy them as much as I am.  😀

4 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. What a great idea! I’m looking forward to all your “platitudes.” I’m embarrassed to admit that lately, my list of “Gosh this sucks” has been much longer than my list of “Hooray!”

    • Don’t feel bad. I learned yesterday that we are probably going to Thanksgiving with the family after all. Sigh. The way it’s developing though, it may not be as bad as I anticipate.

What say you?

