Home » Daily Dose » Guilty Pleasure

Guilty Pleasure

I said in an earlier post that I’m not a fan of reality shows.  I. Do. Not. Like. Reality. Shows.  Usually.  But I found one I enjoy.  At least I think it’s a reality show.  Is there some way to tell?  Are there parameters or a definition somewhere? 

Wikipedia had this to say: 

Reality television is a genre of television programming that presents purportedly unscripted dramatic or humorous situations, documents actual events, and usually features ordinary people instead of professional actors, sometimes in a contest or other situation where a prize is awarded.

There remains some disagreement over whether talent-search shows such as the Idol series, America’s Got Talent, Dancing with the Stars, and Celebrity Duets are truly reality television, or just newer incarnations of shows such as Star Search. Although the shows involve a traditional talent search, the shows follow the reality-competition conventions of removing one or more contestants per episode and allowing the public to vote on who is removed.

So my new guilty pleasure is not necessarily reality TV – cool!  I can’t recall how I discovered America’s Got Talent and I didn’t drop everything and immediately begin following it.   In fact although the show is in its 7th season, I can count on one hand the number of complete episodes I’ve watched.  Usually I would catch one act or an audition, often via an email from a friend.  For instance, I was impressed by the audition of Terry Fator (with his sidekick Emma Taylor).  Tell me this isn’t cool!

Over time I’ve seen other snippets of shows on Facebook (Godvine is a reliable source for moving auditions), looked up specific acts on Youtube and last year Hubs even saw a performance he liked so well he tracked the dancers down online to see them again.  I don’t know why this year I decided to check out Season 7 from the beginning but I just finished watching the first two 2-hour audition shows.  Let me just say – WOW!  These were only auditions!  Holy cow!  Here are some of my favorites:

Tim Hockenberry – the performance begins around the 1:15 mark.  He blew away the audience and judges!

David Garibaldi & his CMYKs – performance art that popped.

William Close -This guy designed and built something he calls an Earth Harp.  It turned the whole auditorium into an instrument. 

That’s only three!  There were so many others who were amazing!  Of course since these were the auditions there were some real bombs too.  It hurt to watch some of them, but it made me realize how brave you have to be to put yourself out there.  I could never stand up on a stage in front of people — NEVER!  So kudos to everyone willing to stand – first in the huge line and then to stand up onstage and sing or dance or whatever it is you do.  You all rock!

10 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasure

  1. I’m still fascinated with the performance of William Close. I must admit the family and I love to watch Americas Got Talent when it’s on primetime. Now I can watch AGT commercial free which is awesome. I’m enjoying my primetime using the Auto Hop feature. It only works on primetime recordings and you have to select yes to enable the feature each time you watch a new primetime recording. You still have the ability to watch commercials if you choose. I was stoked when a couple of my coworkers at Dish showed me how this worked. Usually the playback starts right away, but now a popup asks if I would like to skip the commercials for that episode. Now I can save time looking for the remote or babysitting it waiting for the next commercial.

  2. Bubbe, I’m not a reality TV person either. I tried Dancing with the Stars, but ended up only watching one season. I believe it was season 12. I got bored with it.

    I’m more of a Desperate Housewives type person (it just ran its last show this season). I like the fake as crap stuff! lol.

    • I can’t get into the Desperate Housewives type of show. I usually prefer something with suspense or edging on the supernatural I suppose. I’m liking The Mentalist a little and my favorite shows include Burn Notice, Leverage, Criminal Minds … like that. At the DMV on Saturday Hubs said something about me looking forward to Leverage returning and the woman helping us was right there with me. 😀

What say you?

