Home » Family » People Watching

People Watching

Hubs and I usually spend a lot of time together.  Mostly because we have fun but there’s also practicality.  When we lived out in the country it made sense to go into town together.  One vehicle = less fuel used.  Plus being dipped in the supermarket aisle is kind of cool.  😀  Now that we’re sort of in the city we still run errands together, especially if we’re getting dinner before, during or after. 

The other night after I got home from work Hubs needed to swing by the auto parts store before we grabbed a bite.  I don’t know about you dear readers, but the auto parts store holds no allure for me.  None.  Zip.  Nil.  Nada.  Plus it’s downright painful.  With my knee problems I can’t stand around on cement floors waiting for him to find what he needs and get checked out.  Nor does it amuse me to browse.  When we go there I wait in the car.  Especially after working all day.  If I have my Kindle I’ll read a little, maybe scan for a nearby wi-fi spot and check my WWF status. 

When I don’t have my Kindle I watch people.  It can be fascinating.  No, really!  For one thing, the majority of people going in and out of the auto parts store are guys.  Sometimes they’re even hot guys!  Sure they’re often covered in grease, with their hair all on end, and in their “work clothes” it can be hard to tell they’re hot.  Trust me though, some of them – woo!  [fans self]

While I waited a couple of nights ago I watched two separate pairs of men go in and come back out.  They were obviously working on some project together.  Their easy camaraderie was evident and seemed natural.  It made me sad for Hubs whose best friend lives two states away.  Plus?  The scruffiness of one pair was sooo attractive.  You know what I mean right?  The day-old beard, mussed hair, crinkly eyes and snug fitting jeans.  Okay, so snug fitting jeans aren’t exactly scruffy, but trust me, on the right body they’re attractive! 😉 

Then there was a young couple – I’d guess probably early twenties.  They parked, got out of their car and started into the store.  Young man was holding a piece of white paper.  I couldn’t see anything written on it, they were too far away.  Young woman, carrying a purple, hobo-style bag followed him.  He looked over his shoulder and said something and she whipped around like she was going back to the car.  He said something else and she turned back around to follow him again.  I don’t remember if she was smiling but I think so.  Their actions reminded me of Hubs and I teasing each other so I’m going with that interpretation. 

Not long afterward they came back out.  Probably less than ten minutes.  Young man still holding the paper.  He started to get into the passenger seat but stopped and leaned against the car, talking to his girl who had followed him.  She leaned next to him as they talked.  I can’t say they looked disappointed specifically but something about their body language made me write their story in my head. 

Dee Taggert pulled the compact into a parking space and removed the keys from the ignition.  Next to her, Tommy Coleman held the application as though it might get away from him.  So much was riding on him getting this job.  She covered one of his hands with hers and smiled at him, encouraging.  “Come on, let’s go find Uncle Nick.”  Grabbing her purple hobo bag, Dee opened her door and stepped out while Tommy climbed out the other side. 

Together they approached the store, Dee bringing up the rear slightly.  Tommy looked back over his shoulder and grinning quipped, “You’re not wearing that are you?”  It was an old joke between them and usually she smiled but this time Dee stopped in her tracks and did a quick turnabout.  She even took a couple of steps back toward the car before Tommy called after her, “Come on Taggert, can’t take a joke?”  She repeated the one-eighty and quickly caught up, punching him in the arm.  They disappeared inside the store. 

Less than ten minutes later they exited the store, their steps slower, less eager.  Still carrying the application and no longer smiling, Tommy reached the car first and started to open the passenger door.  He sensed Dee behind him and turned to face her, leaning back on the car door.  She came to stand beside him, her own smile missing.  “I don’t understand,” she said quietly.  “Uncle Nick promised he’d talk to you about the job.”  Tommy sighed and slipped his arm around her shoulders.  He pulled her close.  “He is going to talk to me, he just can’t do it right now.”  He kissed the top of her head.  “Look, don’t go all Negative Nellie on me, okay?  We both need to be positive about this.”  Dee nodded but didn’t say anything.  “Come on,” Tommy continued.  “Let’s go get some dinner and you can tell me about your uncle so I’m prepared when he calls me in.”  He gave her a quick hug and Dee went around the back of her car to get behind the wheel while Tommy slid into the passenger seat.  A few moments later she started the car and they drove away. 

Oh hell, who am I kidding?  I’m sure it was something else entirely, but I love making up stories about people I don’t know.  Anything can happen, and often does.  Thanks for sharing this one with me.  Have a great weekend!!

4 thoughts on “People Watching

  1. Oh I HOPE Tommy gets the job!

    Bubbe, seriously THAT was such a good story! I was totally engrossed and really believed THAT was THEIR story! Great job!

    I people watch too and make up stories about them. My husband and I do that in restaurants. It so much fun!

    And I have to agree that scruffy-looking guys in (tight) jeans…whoa! I’m fanning myself off now. We have to get together one day and go stalk a construction site! If we can’t get close, I have binoculars 😉

What say you?

