Home » Daily Dose » Book Review – The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

Book Review – The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

I don’t know much about reviewing books, but I know what I like and I LOVED this!  Mr. Beddor is my new favorite author!  That isn’t the huge deal it could be I guess since my favorite changes pretty often.  But after reading my blogging buddy Dana’s review of ArchEnemy, I had to read the series.

The Looking Glass Wars is one of the best reads I’ve found in awhile.  It tells the tale of Alyss, a princess in Wonderland along with her tutor Bibwit Harte; her best buddy Dodge Anders; doofus Jack of Diamonds, and other assorted company.  I don’t want to give away anything but you have to know a little in order to determine for yourself if this sounds interesting.  So here you go: 

  • banished evil aunt
  • mutant card soldiers
  • top hat warrior
  • smoking caterpillars
  • morphing kitten
  • heart crystal
  • Pool of Tears – portal to ?
  • Victorian London (seriously, Victorian London)
  • checkerboard desert

There you have it!  Okay, I know that isn’t much.  Here’s a quick synopsis: 

Seven year old Alyss escapes from her evil aunt and for the next thirteen years is trapped in Victorian London.  She is “rescued” at the altar on her wedding day and returns to Wonderland to battle her aunt for the throne with the help of a motley group of rebels.  Throw in a double agent (or two), smoking caterpillars and steampunky inventions and you’ve got a fascinating tail of intrigue and action. 

You might enjoy this if you like fantasy or sci fi subjects.  It started a little slowly (for me anyway) but very quickly I couldn’t put it down.  Beddor creates wonderful, real characters complete with flaws.  Wonderland is vivid and not surprisingly, a little magical.  The story of good vs. evil has been done to death but Beddor has given it new life here. 

I can’t wait to read the next volume, Seeing Redd.   

Thanks Dana!

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

  1. You’re welcome! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! There’s something so, so cool about writing a book review and then seeing that other people actually read it because of your recommendation….

    • Agreed! I started a JD Robb novel before the Beddor book was available at my library and I had to put Dallas and Roarke on hold while I read the Looking Glass Wars. It rocked so much! 😀

What say you?

