Home » Daily Dose » Refrigerator Archeology

Refrigerator Archeology

In the mood for something a little different, I dug (ha!) into old Word files I’d saved and unearthed (HA!) this gem I wrote ten years ago.  (See what I did there?)  😀

Dig…

deeper … sweep away rubble:

plastic-mummified plates, long since forgotten

ancient oleo tubs – striking fear in the bravest heart

cautiously, I peel apart brittle aluminum foil,

spy unfamiliar chocolate cake – only crumbs now

         amidst aged triple fudge icing.

“When did we have that?” I wonder aloud.

“Oh,” my husband says over my shoulder. “I brought

that home for you last month.  Or was it April?”

Shrugging, he disappears – his own Saturday agenda in mind.

8 thoughts on “Refrigerator Archeology

  1. That’s really good, Bubbe. What other gems do you have hidden away?

    Funny, I was just thinking this very morning that I need to go through my folders of “old” writing!

    And now I want cake.

    • Thanks very much Pamela; yes I DO in fact have some other oldies but goodies stashed away. I may post them here some day. As for cake – ME TOO!

What say you?

