Home » Daily Dose » No one called me!!

No one called me!!

Wednesday evening I found out that my sister (from another mother, actually my bestest bff ever) had a stroke on Tuesday AND NO ONE CALLED ME! @$%*&!@!&#*#@&!#?&$#(&!!!!!!

Breathe Bubbe breathe!

Okay, I’m better now. Hubs and I planned to visit P on Saturday; we haven’t seen her or E (her significant other) since the daughter’s wedding a couple of months ago. That’s one of the sucky parts of moving an hour away and working all the damn time! Anyway, I called P last night to find out what time they were expecting us and after a few minutes of chit chat she casually mentions she’s just home from the hospital. Since her SO has terminal cancer I misheard and thought he had been in the hospital so she had to repeat what she said.

Me: What?

P: I just got home from the hospital. I had a mild stroke.

Me: WHAT!?

P: Yesterday the side of my face felt numb, like when the dentist shoots you up with Novocain. So I went to the urgent care. They called an ambulance and sent me to the hospital.

Me: WHAT!!!

P: It’s okay, they said I had a mild stroke. Probably because I haven’t been taking my meds.

Me: WHAT!!!??

P: R & E (a different E, not her SO) were there with me.  I’m fine.

Me: And no one called ME!?

P: That was probably my fault. M (her daughter in another state) kept calling because she was so worried and there wasn’t anything you could do and I didn’t want to worry you guys.

Me: WTF!? (pause to breathe)

Me: So tell me P, were you not taking your meds because you couldn’t afford them?

P: Yeah, but I have them now; they gave me some at the hospital.

Me: (banging head on table) If you run out of meds again and can’t afford them YOU CALL ME!

P: Yes ma’am.

Me: I mean it P!

P: Yes ma’am.

Me: Promise me!

P: I promise.

And how was your Wednesday?

UPDATE:  Earlier today on my break I got onto the Facebook for the first time in yeesh, I don’t know, weeks?  And promptly discovered my biological half sister is in the hospital with some kind of stones!  AND NO ONE CALLED ME!  So my bff sister and my half sister both hospitalized within days of each other.  And the really weird part?  BOTH their names are P!  Seriously.  You can’t make this shit up.

6 thoughts on “No one called me!!

  1. Ok, in P’s defense, I had a little heart related (the Dr. thought when he sent me rushing to the ER) episode a couple of years ago which turned out to be a panic attack. I didn’t call either of my girls because A) it was all over anyway and B) there was nothing they could have done at the time but pace around the dang waiting room. HOWEVER they have since convinced me of the error in thinking and now I call them both when any medical emergency comes up, like a hangnail….cuz they got PRETTY EFFIN MAD AT ME FOR NOT CALLING. So I see your point as well. And I’m really sorry your Peeps are falling apart on ya, so I’m sending you prayers, and hugs.

  2. Oooof. That’s maddening. My mom will tell me stuff, but sugarcoat it so badly that I have to learn how to read between the lines, or call my sister. Because you don’t always think “she’s stopping treatment right now” = “she’s going on hospice.” Argh.

    • I know, right!? We need information! Accurate info would be best but sometimes I’d just like to be in the loop. Thanks so much for stopping by Mayor Gia, appreciate it!

  3. trumpets
    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers trumpets

    • You’d be better off checking with WordPress and their helpful support people. I’m a brand new blogger and I use their free service so it only costs me my time. Good thing as I have no money to blow.

What say you?

