Home » Daily Dose » Aging Gracefully

Aging Gracefully

This morning I found my first gray hair.  Seriously, the very first one I’ve seen and I’m fifty-cough years old.  I think I have my parents to thank for that.  Through the wonderful mystery of genes I have this lovely ash blond hair that naturally hides the gray.  (Boy does that sound like a hair color commercial!)  It must be hiding it; there’s no way I have only one!  Hell, I’ve been seeing gray in my eyebrows off and on for years now!  I’ve also discovered that “gray” is open to interpretation.  When I first spotted it in my hand it reflected the light with a gleam, so I’d say it’s more silver than gray.  Silver’s cool.

Lately, I’ve noticed my face looks older too and that’s something I’m willing to live with.  Every once in a while I’ll stand in front of the mirror and play “what if”, pulling back a bit at the sides near my eyes to smooth out the lines.  But there’s no way I’d have anything DONE.  Not only do I have better things to spend my money on, I’ve seen enough hack jobs that I’m so NOT willing to risk it.  Not to mention how stabby I get when I think of anyone coming near my face with a sharp object!  (See what I did there?  Stabby…sharp – come on, work with me here!)

There was a BC cartoon on Sunday that addressed aging gracefully and it seemed like a perfect choice to include here.  However, I haven’t requested permission and in the wisdom that accompanies age, I’m choosing not to violate copyright law.  I’m sure you can find it online if you’re really interested.  (Go here.)  Don’t say I never gave you nuthin’! :D

I’ll leave you with this (non-copyrighted as far as I can tell) thought:

old grey 2

She’s better!

4 thoughts on “Aging Gracefully

  1. Brava, bubbe! I have ash blonde hair, too, and I consider myself to be getting free silver highlights from Mother Nature!

What say you?

