Home » Family » A new year deserves

A new year deserves

a new look!  I am 57 today.  On the downside I’m starting to look my age (for years I didn’t so there IS that).  The upside – I feel better physically than I have in years!  Plus?  No gray hair!  Unless you count a few stragglers in my eyebrows.  I don’t count those.

As I said in the previous post, I’m losing weight; I’m moving more and it all adds up to feeling good.  Mostly.

It was an excellent birthday weekend though.  I knew our law office was one of those that would not be closed for my birthday, even though the banks, post office and courts are all shut down.  Well, not exactly for my birthday; it’s also Veteran’s Day folks.  So go find a Veteran and give them a big THANK YOU!  Because I knew they would expect me to actually work on my birthday I asked for the day off – woo hoo!  Three day weekend!

Birthday weekend began Friday night after work.  We went to dinner at Old Country Buffet — the one near my daughter’s house has the most excellent salad bar!!  That’s where I head as soon as we have a table.  My first plate is usually heaped with greens, fresh veggies, sometimes cottage cheese and peaches-sometimes not.  I love beets and carrot-raisin salad and sunflower seeds and garbanzo beans and, and, and!  So many choices!  My one indulgence when we go there is a soft ice cream cone from the half chocolate-half vanilla spigot.  As a teen, Hubs worked at Carvel and he makes the most perfect swirly cones!  Finished up Friday by staying up late and then slept in on Saturday.  Well, if you consider 6:30-ish sleeping in.

Hey, I TRIED to go back to sleep, I really did!  Didn’t work.  So I got up close to 7 and got to work around the house.  I didn’t plan on doing too much but I found myself scouring the Internet for healthy bread recipes and making messy shopping lists.  Using the recipe I tried last Saturday with a couple of substitutions I started a loaf of bread in the bread machine.  Then I did some cleaning.  In the midst of all this the dogs needed to be walked and fed, and the gifts for grandson’s 6th birthday party later Saturday had to be wrapped.  Plus I was texting like a madwoman with my youngest daughter and my buddy from across the water on the peninsula.

Daughter K and friend P were both coming to the birthday party for the 6 year old.  We had been given early warning that the dozen or so 5, 6 and 7-year olds wold be arriving around 3:30 so we planned to show up at 1.  Daughter A was trying madly to finish the handmade Pin-the-tail on the Dinosaur game so K and I plopped our fannies down on the floor to help color in tails and the dino himself.  Eventually K had to give up because grandson N and his friend Charlie were butting in trying to “help” her.  She finally passed the baton so to speak and took the munchkins up to N’s room to play with Legos and keep them out of the way.  Mom and SIL had arrived shortly after us (P was running late, she had the longest drive) and SIL B helped out with the dino tails.  It was actually a pleasant time.

There was a lot more action in the next hour or so and I’ll try to post on that later.  We escaped just as the last of the young party guests arrived … not a moment too soon!  It got loud in a hurry!  After stopping at our house to walk the dogs and grab some  flip flops, we headed to K’s and my favorite nail place.  Earlier, I’d made an appointment for three pedicures.  My favorite boss had been extremely generous for my birthday and I treated daughter and friend to pedicures.  It was P’s very first one!  When my daughter took me for my very first one for my birthday last year it changed my life!  So of course I had to pay that forward.  P loved it!  Happy Birthday to me!  After, we had dinner together; exchanged hugs all around and P headed for home.  K came home with us for awhile and her friend picked her up there.

The only dark spot on the whole day was the effed up migraine that hit me shortly before K left.  Once she’d gone it escalated quickly until I was nauseous and dizzy.  Hubs was a little munchy and asked whether I wanted to go to Denny’s (by this time everything else was closed and it is our favorite nearby place ) for dessert.  I was going to try but it just wasn’t happening.  I sent him off on his own, took meds and buried myself in bed.  It was pretty late by this time so I fell asleep pretty easily.  Unfortunately I woke several times during the night and each time the headache was still pounding away.  I was beginning to think the rest of my long weekend would be ruined.  But…when I woke up in the “real” morning, it was mostly gone!  Yay!

Sunday we headed up to see Mom mainly because Hubs wanted an excuse to travel north to meet up with a couple of guys on Craigslist who had some car parts that would work for our Suburban.  He wouldn’t use the fuel to drive that far just for the parts so we arranged to visit Mom and go to dinner with her.  We had seen her at the party the day before but with a bunch of other people around you don’t really get to “visit”.  So we “visited” and I ordered sirloin at dinner!  Yum!  In fact, I forgot my leftovers are in the fridge until this very minute!  Hold on y’all…

Mmmm.

Okay, back now.  That hit the spot!

Surprisingly, BIL R left me some of the Jello shots he’d made for his annual poker night with the boys.  Before we’d gone to dinner I tried the cherry chocolate — wow!  Cherry Jello, a real cherry in the middle and a layer of chocolate melted on top!  All tied together with vodka.  Mmm mmm good!  After dinner I tried the blueberry cream, not expecting to like it.  I’ve never been a blueberry fan; they don’t taste like anything to me.  Blueberry aficionados tell me it’s because I’ve never tried them fresh from the vine or the bog or wherever it is they grow.  Maybe so.  Anyway, the blueberry cream Jello shot didn’t taste like anything I could identify but it did taste good!  The other four he left me I brought home.  I didn’t want Hubs to have to carry me out to the truck.

I half way expected to wake with another headache after the alcohol; I’m never really sure what triggers them.  But I woke feeling okay, tired…but okay!  Again – Happy Birthday to me!

So you’re up to date, mostly.  I’m going to get a shopping list together, after finding a new recipe for ground turkey, and later today I’ll drag Hubs out to shop with me.  He likes that cause he gets to wander through electronics and hardware and maybe even dip me in the cereal aisle!

I hope y’all had an excellent weekend!  And if not, I hope hearing about mine gave you a smile.

xoxo

 

4 thoughts on “A new year deserves

  1. Ok…
    1st: HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY FRIEND!!
    2nd: I’m a horrible, awful friend for forgetting said birthday until this minute. Forgive me?? I got you a Birthday gift while in Guam, you may get it by Christmas, along with the Thank You cards/birth announcement from Gus that I can never remember to mail…..Oy
    3rd: I’m so proud of you for getting healthy! Come to SD & teach me??
    4th: Ok, there’s no 4th. I’m still appalled at myself for forgetting your Day…
    LUV U!!

    • Not to worry love, I have a secret way to ‘member birthdays, but it doesn’t bother me one whit if folks forget mine. Although Hubs better not! ;) I wish it was something I could teach you but hold tight, I’ll email you later with a tip. :D

What say you?

